Admin Day

Today is a day that celebrates the work that I do. I have had the privilege of carrying this title for 5.5 years now at the place I currently work. Today was bittersweet for me as it was the last one I will have with my employer because of the transition my husband it taking with his job. I saw my boss a few times today and not one word was said to me. I saw a few other people and again, not a word. I texted a fellow admin friend of mine a Happy Admin Day to which she replied “back at cha.” That was the extent of my day. I get paid for 12 hours a week but I work anywhere between 30-60 depending on what is going on that week. My boss knows of my upcoming transition as he and my husband are great friends. I know he isn’t angry with me for leaving so for this to be my last one at my current organization, I was kind of hurt to not hear a word from him about it. Granted, my first one at the church was forgotten as well so it’s not like this is the first one but I work my tail off. I do things at the drop of a dime for him all the time. One thank you today would have gone a long way. I’m not huge on gifts or things like that but a thank you… that would have been nice. Every year I post a shout out to my fellow admins on facebook and almost immediately after, I get a call or text from my bosses wife thanking me for my service. Again, I know it isn’t intentional but still… it hurt a little.

***
This is my post on FB today…

I’ve waited all day to post this because it’s not about me seeking recognition. Every year I post kudos to others and the next thing I know, I get messages, calls, texts or people showing up at my door. That’s NOT what this is for. That’s why I waited until 8p to post this so the above things won’t happen if it hasn’t already. 😉

For my fellow admins, today is YOUR day. I hope you were all recognized in such a way that was honoring to you for the work you do. I for one never understood why there was an “Administrative Professionals Day” until I became one. We tend to be the glue that holds a lot of things together. We aren’t just secretaries. We are people who virtually run the businesses we work for. We help make it run like a well-oiled machine and without us, who knows where things would end up! 😉

A well-deserved thank you goes out to each and every one of you. I know how hard you all work. I know the schedule you keep. I know the workload you do. I know the stress you have. I know the deadlines you meet. I understand the workload. I understand your drive. I understand your passion. I understand YOU. Keep up the great work my fellow friends. You may often feel overlooked and unappreciated but I assure you, you are not. ❤️❤️❤️

***

I love my job. I love my boss. I love what I do. Remember, a THANK YOU goes a long way in the life of an administrative assistant.

Leave a comment